top of page

Thu, 08 Feb


Nelson Cathedral

Adam Chamber Music Festival: Bach by Candlelight

New Zealand's International Chamber Music Festival, hosted in sunny Nelson and curated by our very own Gillian Ansell and Helene Pohl.

Registration is closed
See other events
Adam Chamber Music Festival:  Bach by Candlelight
Adam Chamber Music Festival:  Bach by Candlelight

Time & Location

08 Feb 2024, 7:30 pm – 9:30 pm

Nelson Cathedral, 1 Trafalgar Square, Nelson 7010, New Zealand

About the event

An impressive line-up of festival artists will gather for a sumptuous evening of Bach in various instrumentations and guises, including a rendition of a Gamba sonata with violin, cello and double bass, lively soprano arias, a noble organ prelude and fugue, cello suites on both the contrabass and violoncello da spalla, and finishing with Bach’s glorious E major violin concerto.

As a special treat, Sergey Malov will present a New Zealand premiere of a work written for him as a response to Bach’s Suite No 6.

BachSonata for Viola da Gamba in D major – Sergey Malov (violin), Rolf Gjelsten (cello), Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass)

Bach – Arias from Cantatas 204 and 208  – Jenny Wollerman (soprano), Rolf Gjelsten (cello), Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass), Helene Pohl (violin), Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (harpsicord)

Bach – Cello Suite No 6 – Sergey Malov (violoncello da spalla)

Hendy – Metamorphic – Sergey Malov (violoncello da spalla)

Bach – Prelude, Adagio and Fugue BWV 545 and 529 – Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (organ)

Bach – Cello Suite No 1 in G major – Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass)

Bach – Aria for soprano with obbligato cello “Die Welt wird wieder neu… Phoebus eilt” from the Wedding Cantata (BWV 202)– Jenny Wollerman (soprano), Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass), Rolf Gjelsten (cello),Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (harpsicord)

Bach – Violin Concerto in E major – Sergey Malov, Helene Pohl, Monique Lapins, Peter Gjelsten, Lucas Baker (violins), Gillian Ansell, Lauren Jack (violas), Rolf Gjelsten (cello), Vincent Chen (cellos), Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass), Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (harpsicord)

Duration: Approximately 120 minutes including interval

Proudly supported by Dorothy & Alastair Kerr

Share this event

bottom of page