top of page


Nau mai, Haere Mai. 


Welcome to our Digital Concert Hall.

Enjoy the NZSQ like never before - up close and musical, from the comfort of your own home. 

Our growing collection of performances are available free for you to enjoy at your leisure. Alongside our exciting miniseries of education resources that are free to access at any time.

We'll be adding more performances and education resources over time - subscribe to our Q-notes mailing list to be the first to hear about new releases, behind-the-scenes interviews and much more. 


Our digital concert series filmed in the cosy Black Sparrow Bar at the Embassy Theatre, Wellington.

Join us online as we take you on an intimate journey through the music of Haydn, Shostakovich, Louise Webster (NZ) and Dvořák interspersed with lively conversation and musical introductions from the Quartet.

Shot in stunning HD with high quality audio production, The Digital Sessions are now available to view at your leisure, completely free.

For a truly immersive experience, check out our NZSQ Insights series, presented by the Quartet members, bringing to life the music and history of both digital concerts. 


LOUISE WEBSTER this memory of earth

DVOŘÁK String Quartet No.10, Op. 51

This memory of earth celebrates our relationship with the natural environment and our memories that connect us to our sense of place in the world.

Through cerebral gestures in Louise Webster’s this memory of earth and Slavonic echoes in Dvořák’s tenth string quartet – our second Digital Session brings to life nostalgic memories of childhood and homeland.

Approx. 55mins


HAYDN String Quartet Op.76, No.4 'Sunrise'

SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No.11, Op.122

Diving deep into the music of Haydn and Shostakovich – Between the Shades of Light explores personal expression and musical identity in times of freedom and suppression.


Haydn, writing with beauty and optimism, pursuing his ideal form of expression - and Shostakovich, in soviet-era Russia, intent on expressing his voice under suppression and dictatorship.  Two quartets written under vastly different circumstances, yet each, affecting music that speaks directly to the soul.

Approx. 46mins

Digital Session One | Between the Shades of Light